Thank you so much Merit! Here is the meta tag.

1 billion dollars worth of chocolate will be sold this Valentine’s day, along with 36 million boxes of heart-shaped chocolate. And while you might consider Valentine’s Day a cheesy “Hallmark Holiday,” our Christian faith is built upon love and that is always something worth celebrating! And, while we believe that chocolate is worthy of most celebrations, we’ve compiled a simple list of other ways you can learn more about love. 

  1. Watch The First Valentine movie together
  2. Read The Story of St. Valentine together or, for older kids, read C.S. Lewis’ The Four Loves.
  3. See who can come up with silliest Haiku’s about each other, Valentines Day or love! 
  4. Write heartfelt love letter to the people you live with. Be sure to include a haiku, written just for them! 
  5. Make some heart shaped rock candy with your science lover!
  6. Make some Valentines Day Slime 
  7. Make Valentines Day Playdoh!
  8. Craft a sweet woven paper heart and fill it with candy or sweet haiku’s for a friend or grandparent!
  9. Build a homemade Trebuchet and launch candy hearts! 
  10. Make Chocolate dipped strawberries for dessert or Holiday Pretzel Buttons; just Pretzels, M & M’s and a kiss! 
  11. Memorize the 4 types of Love found in the Bible
    1. Agape- unconditional love that is perfect, sacrificial and pure, like God’s love for us. “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life.” (John 3:16)
    2. Philia – brotherly love; care, respect and compassion for others “By this everyone will know that you are my disciples if you love one another.” (John 13:35, NIV)
    3. Storge -Familial love, affectionate bonds between family members found in Romans 12:10, which commands believers to “be devoted” to one another with brotherly affection.
    4. Eros– Romantic Love Enjoy life with the wife whom thou lovest Ecc 9:9
  12. Do a service project as a family. Do a food or coat drive for a local shelter, or serve a meal at a halfway house.
  13. Listen to our podcast on the 5 Love languages and see if you can do something related to each one for at least one person in your family.
    1. Act of Service
    2. Physical Touch
    3. Words of Affirmation
    4. Gifts
    5. Quality Time
  14. Make a festive dinner and drop it off at a shut-in or for a family with a new baby. Or invite someone to your house for dinner and serve them as a family, listening to their stories and fellowshipping over a good meal.
  15. Memorize the “Love” Chapter 1 Corinthians 13:4-8

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hope, always perseveres.

Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away.

As people of faith, we know that we are supposed to be loving and kind. Being intentional about how we behave in a loving manner towards one another takes thoughtfulness, care, and intentionality. Hopefully, this list will give you some fun ideas for celebrating those you love!